Electrical and Electronics Engineering Institute

University of the Philippines - Diliman

UP EEEI’s CharM bags DOST-PCIEERD’s Most Outstanding R&D Award 2015

The Rapid Electric Vehicle Charging - Charging in Minutes (CharM) Project bagged the 2015 Most Outstanding R&D Award under the Energy, Utilities, and Systems Category in the Search for Outstanding R&D of the Department of Science and Technology - Philippine Council for Industry, Energy, and Emerging Technology Research and Development (DOST-PCIEERD), held at the Marriott Hotel, 30 June 2015.

CharM project started in 2013 through the initiatives of Prof. Lew Andrew Tria of the UP Electrical and Electronics Engineering Institute (UP EEEI). The project aims to support the government’s call for energy efficiency by developing a fast-charging system for electric vehicles. It is similar to that of a gasoline station where users can replenish their e-vehicles with charging time of no more than 30 minutes.

The project also serves as a means to test and qualify lithium-ion batteries for e-vehicle use. A smart battery management system (BMS) that communicates with the rapid charger is also developed for enhanced safety and reliability. CharM sets out for its phase two where the target is to extend the adoption of the charging station in the Metro and for the charger to service a wider variety of e-vehicles.

The awarding ceremony was held during the 5th anniversary celebration of DOST-PCIEERD at Marriott Hotel in Pasay City. The goal of the DOST-PCIEERD’s Search for Outstanding R&D is to “recognize the research works of Filipino scientists, researchers, and engineers in the industry, energy, emerging technology, and special concerns like environment, climate change adaptation, and disaster risk reduction and management.”

Winners were evaluated based on the research’s scientific soundness , technical rigor, creativity and originality, clarity of presentation, and “overall impact and contribution to national programs for rapid, inclusive, and sustained economic growth.”

Out of 45 entries from the four categories namely Industrial Technology; Energy, Utilities, and Systems; Emerging Technology; and Special Concerns, only 3-5 finalists per category presented their research work before a panel of judges from March to June 2015. Winners from each category received half-a-million peso cash prize.

The CharM technical working group from the UP EEEI is composed of Prof. Niño Christopher Ramos, Engr. Leo Allen Tayo, Engr. Emmanuel Brian Arceo, Engr. Raphael Victor Canseco, Engr. Rovinna Janel Cruzate, Engr. Billy Joel Esquivel, Engr. Karl Lyndon Pacolor, and Engr. Adrian Jay Virata.